Brand - Vorarlberg

Location: 1050 m above sea level, the oldest climatic health resort in Vorarlberg 

The Walser village (Walser are the native inhabitants of Brand, who migrated from the Swiss canton of Valais in the 14th century), is the sunny cradle of its mats and forests, nestled between mighty high mountains and protected by the 2965m high Scesaplana with the Brandner glacier towering above it. The Lünersee lies at an altitude of 2000m. The town has 700 inhabitants and over 2200 guest beds.

Brand is located 11 km from the express train station Bludenz (Arlberg Westrampe, line Bodensee bez. Zürich - Feldkirch - Bludenz - Arlberg - Innsbruck) and can be reached by post bus (6 - 8 courses daily) in 30 minutes, by car in 20 minutes on a good road.
Vorarlberg - Austria's dynamic West
Vorarlberg is a cosmopolitan, art-loving country in the very west of Austria. In the best location between Lake Constance, Arlberg, Silvretta and Rätikon, in the four-country corner with Germany, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

"Whether Lake Constance or high alpine landscapes - Vorarlberg has it. Whether it's the expansive Rhine delta or narrow green valleys - Vorarlberg hats. Whether young architecture or lively culture - Vorarlberg really has everything. What luck for the people of Vorarlberg - and for us holidaymakers." This is how the well-known German travel magazine Merian writes in 2007.

Vorarlberg is an alpine idyll, flourishing economic area and pulsating cultural centre at the same time. With a pronounced penchant for opposites and idiosyncrasies. The coexistence of tradition and modernity is exciting. The state has long been considered a cultural stronghold in the Lake Constance region and a centre of modern architecture throughout Europe.



Country and people
Vorarlberg is a pleasantly manageable country. With an area of 2,600 km2 it occupies just 3 % of the area of Austria. Vorarlberg has 370,000 inhabitants. It is the only federal state with a population of Alemannic descent in Austria, which is otherwise characterized by Bavarian dialect, audible in dialect.

The European watershed between the North Sea and the Black Sea runs through Vorarlberg. The Vorarlberg Rhine Valley forms the border between the Western and Eastern Alps. This gives the landscape its special charm.



Inspire mountains
Mountains are here in all their forms. They rise leisurely from the shores of Lake Constance. First friendly hills, then imposing peaks up to over 3,000 meters high. Around 6,000 kilometres of hiking trails lead through the country, all of which are uniformly signposted. Cable cars and chair lifts float to many peaks. Anyone who wants to explore the Vorarlberg mountains with expert guidance and safety is in the best of hands with the mountain and hiking guides, the staff of alpine schools and outdoor sports providers.
entice cycling paths
Vorarlberg's landscapes are also ideal for cycling or mountain biking. The signposted cycle path network is over 300 kilometres long. In addition, there are many cross-border routes leading to Germany, Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein. These include the 250-kilometre-long Bodensee cycle path, one of the most popular cycle routes in Europe. The mountain bike network is several 100 kilometres long and grows from year to year.



Art, culture and customs
World-class festivals such as the Bregenz Festival and the Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg and Hohenems are impressive. More than 60 museums show exciting things. The arc stretches from contemporary art to nature to be grasped and understood.

The Vorarlberg region's innovative spirit is also - and especially - reflected in modern architecture, which attracts worldwide attention. Stylistically, the concept combines tradition with modernity. The focus is on clear lines and economic functionality, which is reflected in low energy consumption. Among the building materials, glass, steel, concrete and the traditional raw material wood dominate, preferably from domestic forests, cut, stored and processed at the right moon.

Visible traditions are the traditional costumes - mostly those of the women - which are worn nowadays mainly on Sundays and holidays and on festive occasions. For example the colourful costume of the Walser women, which is tied over the breast or the "Juppe", the elegant black costume of the Bregenzerwald women.



Variety guaranteed
There are a number of attractive sights within a radius of around 200 kilometres. Some destinations can even be reached with Lake Constance ships. Top destinations include the baroque collegiate church and library in St. Gallen (UNESCO World Heritage Site), the baroque monastery of Einsiedeln and the Rhine Falls near Schaffhausen in Switzerland. In Germany the flower island Mainau, the medieval wine town Meersburg and the fairytale castle Neuschwanstein in Füssen. The Principality of Liechtenstein with its capital Vaduz and its impressive art museum is also close by.

The new mountain bike network covers several hundred kilometres of all levels of difficulty. The 18-hole golf course near Braz and the 18-hole course in Brand are among the most beautiful alpine courses in Austria.

The Propstei in St. Gerold im Großen Walsertal with its finely tuned concert programme is the meeting place for those interested in culture.

The Brandnertal is an alpine gem, at the end of which lies the Walser village of Brand. Free of through traffic and well protected by the Scesaplana: with natural swimming lake, panoramic hiking trails and the Bürserberg-Brand ski area. The turquoise-green Lünersee is an impressive reservoir that can be reached by cable car.

A DESIGNER HOTEL IN THE MOUNTAINS

But not just any hotel. Fancy taking a little peek?

Erlebnis-Hotspot Brand

Der älteste Luftkurort Vorarlbergs auf 1.050 m Seehöhe.

Das Walserdorf (als Walser werden die Ureinwohner von Brand bezeichnet, die aus dem schweizerischen Kanton Wallis im 14. Jhdt. eingewandert sind) ist eine sonnige Talwiege inmitten von Wäldern und mächtigen Hochgebirgen und wird von der 2.965 m hohen Scesaplana-Spitze und dem Brandner Gletscher überragt. Auf 2.000 m Höhe liegt der Lünersee. 

Brand liegt 11 km von der Schnellzugstation Bludenz (Arlberg Westrampe, Linie Bodensee bez. Zürich – Feldkirch – Bludenz – Arlberg – Innsbruck) und ist mit dem Postbus (6 – 8 Kurse täglich) in 30 Minuten, mit dem PKW in 20 Minuten auf guter Straße erreichbar.
Vorarlberg - Österreichs dynamischer Westen
Vorarlberg ist ein weltoffenes, kunstsinniges Land im äußersten Westen Österreichs. Gelegen in bester Lage zwischen Bodensee, Arlberg, Silvretta und Rätikon, im Vier-Länder-Eck mit Deutschland, Schweiz und Liechtenstein.

„Ob Bodensee oder hochalpine Landschaften – Vorarlberg hat's. Ob weitläufiges Rheindelta oder enge grüne Täler – Vorarlberg hat's. Ob junge Architektur oder lebendige Kultur – Vorarlberg hat wirklich alles. Was für ein Glück für die Vorarlberger – und für uns Urlauber.“ So schreibt das bekannte deutsche Reisemagazin Merian 2007.

Vorarlberg ist Alpenidylle, florierender Wirtschaftsraum und pulsierendes Kulturzentrum zugleich. Das Bundesland hat ein ausgeprägtes Faible für Gegensätzliches und Eigenarten und den Mix aus Tradition und Moderne. Längst schon gilt das Land als Kulturhochburg im Bodenseeraum und europaweit als Zentrum moderner Architektur.



Land und Leute
Vorarlberg ist ein angenehm überschaubares Land. Mit einer Fläche von 2.600 km2 nimmt es gerademal 3 % der Fläche Österreichs ein. Vorarlberg ist das einzige Bundesland mit einer Bevölkerung alemannischer Abstammung im ansonsten bajuwarisch geprägten Österreich, hörbar am Dialekt.

Durch Vorarlberg verläuft die europäische Wasserscheide zwischen der Nordsee und dem Schwarzen Meer. Das Vorarlberger Rheintal bildet die Grenze zwischen den West- und den Ostalpen und verleiht der Landschaft ihren besonderen Reiz.



Berge begeistern
Berge gibt es hier in allen Formen. Von den Ufern des Bodensees steigen sie gemächlich an. Erst freundliche Hügel, dann imposante Gipfel auf über 3.000 Höhenmetern. Rund 6.000 Kilometer Wanderwege führen durchs Land, alle sind einheitlich beschildert. Auf viele Gipfel schweben Seilbahnen und Sessellifte. Wer die Vorarlberger Bergwelt fachkundig begleitet und sicher erkunden möchte, ist bei den Berg- und Wanderführern, den Mitarbeitern von Alpinschulen und Outdoor-Sportanbietern in besten Händen.
Radwege verlocken
Vorarlbergs Landschaften sind auch für Ausflüge mit dem Rad oder Mountainbike wie geschaffen. Über 300 Kilometer lang ist das beschilderte Radwegenetz. Dazu kommen viele grenzüberschreitende Routen, die nach Deutschland, in die Schweiz und bis ins Fürstentum Liechtenstein führen. Darunter verläuft der etwa 250 Kilometer lange Bodensee-Radwanderweg, eine der beliebtesten Radrouten Europas. Das Mountainbike-Netz ist einige 100 Kilometer lang und wächst von Jahr zu Jahr.



Kunst, Kultur und Brauchtum
Festivals von Weltrang – wie die Bregenzer Festspiele und die Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg und Hohenems – beeindrucken in Vorarlberg. Über 60 Museen zeigen Spannendes, Altes und Neues. Der Bogen spannt sich von zeitgenössischer Kunst bis hin zu Natur zum An- und Begreifen.

Die Innovationsfreude der Vorarlberger zeigt sich auch – und ganz besonders – an der modernen Architektur, die weltweit Aufmerksamkeit weckt. Im Vordergrund stehen klare Linien und die ökonomische Funktionalität, die sich im niedrigen Energieverbrauch äußert. Bei den Baumaterialien dominieren Glas, Stahl, Beton und der traditionelle Rohstoff Holz, vorzugsweise aus heimischen Wäldern, beim richtigen Mond geschlagen, gelagert und verarbeitet.

Sichtbare Tradition sind die Trachten, meist jene der Frauen, die heutzutage vorwiegend an Sonn- und Feiertagen und zu festlichen Anlässen getragen werden. Zum Beispiel die farbenfrohe Tracht der Walserinnen, die über der Brust gebunden wird oder die „Juppe“, die elegante, schwarze Tracht der Bregenzerwälderinnen.



Abwechslung garantiert
Im Umkreis von rund 200 Kilometern liegen eine Reihe von attraktiven Sehenswürdigkeiten. Einige Ziele sind sogar mit den Bodenseeschiffen erreichbar. Zu den Top-Zielen zählen die barocke Stiftskirche und Bibliothek in St. Gallen (UNESCO Weltkulturerbe), das barocke Kloster Einsiedeln und die Rheinfälle bei Schaffhausen in der Schweiz. In Deutschland warten die Blumeninsel Mainau, die mittelalterliche Weinstadt Meersburg und das Märchenschloss Neuschwanstein in Füssen. Auch das Fürstentum Liechtenstein mit seiner Hauptstadt Vaduz und dem eindrucksvollen Kunstmuseum liegt ganz nah.

Das neue Mountainbike-Netz umfasst einige hundert Kilometer aller Schwierigkeitsgrade. Der 18- Loch Golfplatz bei Braz und der 18-Loch Platz in Brand zählen zu den schönsten Alpenplätzen Österreichs.

Treffpunkt für Kulturinteressierte ist die Propstei in St. Gerold im Großen Walsertal mit ihrem fein abgestimmten Konzertprogramm.

Ein alpines Kleinod ist das Brandnertal, an dessen Talende das Walserdorf Brand liegt. Frei von Durchzugsverkehr und gut beschützt von der Scesaplana mit Naturbadesee, aussichtsreichen Wanderwegen und dem Skigebiet Bürserberg-Brand. Eindrucksvoll der türkis-grüne Lünersee, ein Stausee, der per Seilbahn erreichbar ist. Und nicht zu übersehen: unser designverliebtes Erlebnis- und Sporthotel in Brand

ACTIVE & NATURE

Lass dir die Vorarlberger Bergluft um die Nase wehen und mach dich auf zum nächsten Ziel.